CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > calaisturbo.com.au > V8 Discussion
G-Cylinder

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 10-06-08, 09:12   #26
calaisv8
Player
 
calaisv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-03-08
Location: NSW, East side
Car: calais
Trader Rating: (2)
the vn diff will fit but is i believe 1 or 2 inches widder each side than the vl so would be fun fitting big wheels on as for the diff a mate has done this and fits fine he used the front half of the vn tailshaft and connected it to the rear vl tailshaft and fits fine they come apart at the uni joint
calaisv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-08, 09:36   #27
hsvhel
gtr in progress
 
hsvhel's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30-06-05
Location: NZ, Botany
Car: LC GTR Torana
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to hsvhel
how is there a difference between an auto and manual rack??? theyre the same rack still
__________________
your not funny, your fat and look as though you should be
hsvhel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-08, 09:52   #28
NZ EVLHSV
Player
 
NZ EVLHSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-06
Location: NZ, Auckland
Car: Gen-F GTS
Trader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjl355
just a question about the conversion.im half way through it and just getting up to the tailshaft.can i fit the vn diff and if so will the tailshaft out of the vn fit or will i have to get a cutom one made up???also couldnt you just put a bigger fuel pump on instead of changing the fuel tank?or could the vn one fit?

by the way great thread very helpful
thanks
Craig
Don't use a VN diff, they're too wide and no stronger than a VL V8/turbo diff. If its a stock 304 EFI the stock VL diff should be fine

Are you starting with a 3L VL? If so the stock fuel pump is fine for a stock 304
NZ EVLHSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-08, 19:48   #29
cjl355
Player
 
cjl355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-02-07
Location: Sydney, western suburbs
Car: holden VL Calais injected
Trader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NZ EVLHSV
Don't use a VN diff, they're too wide and no stronger than a VL V8/turbo diff. If its a stock 304 EFI the stock VL diff should be fine

Are you starting with a 3L VL? If so the stock fuel pump is fine for a stock 304
im starting with a v8 vl and the tank in mine is newish and didnt want to buy another one
.
cjl355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-08, 19:54   #30
calaisv8
Player
 
calaisv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-03-08
Location: NSW, East side
Car: calais
Trader Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsvhel
how is there a difference between an auto and manual rack??? theyre the same rack still
are you sure? im pretty sure the power steerin wracks a bit bigger
calaisv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-08, 20:25   #31
cjl355
Player
 
cjl355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-02-07
Location: Sydney, western suburbs
Car: holden VL Calais injected
Trader Rating: (0)
just a question.with the clutch pedal do i use the vn pedal box or use the standard vl pedal box and put the clutch pedal in that or buy a vl manual pedal box.i dont think the vn one fits?any one know
cjl355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-08, 20:15   #32
cjl355
Player
 
cjl355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-02-07
Location: Sydney, western suburbs
Car: holden VL Calais injected
Trader Rating: (0)
anyone know?
cjl355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-08, 06:33   #33
NZ EVLHSV
Player
 
NZ EVLHSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-06
Location: NZ, Auckland
Car: Gen-F GTS
Trader Rating: (0)
VL manual box
NZ EVLHSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-08, 08:55   #34
PSIWOG
Gold Members
 
PSIWOG's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-08-04
Location: Melbourne, frankston
Car: Audi
Trader Rating: (1)
Send a message via MSN to PSIWOG
Quote:
Originally Posted by calaisv8
are you sure? im pretty sure the power steerin wracks a bit bigger
he said auto and manual not power and non power steering.
__________________
Ready to come home
PSIWOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-08, 21:53   #35
gamble
Player
 
Join Date: 22-06-08
Location: NSW, murwillumbah, northern nsw
Car: efi 304 exec/calais bits
Trader Rating: (0)
hey ive just got myself a efi 304 and th700 out of a vr statesman and am about to start putting it into my 3l vl. i have heard that the v8 and 6 cyl floor pans are a different size through the trans tunnel area. does the 6 cyl trans tunnel have to be modified to house the th700 box?
gamble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-08, 08:08   #36
calaisv8
Player
 
calaisv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-03-08
Location: NSW, East side
Car: calais
Trader Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSIWOG
he said auto and manual not power and non power steering.
lol my bad hey do u guys know if the vn dash loom will plug into the vr v8 computer cheers

Quote:
Originally Posted by gamble
hey ive just got myself a efi 304 and th700 out of a vr statesman and am about to start putting it into my 3l vl. i have heard that the v8 and 6 cyl floor pans are a different size through the trans tunnel area. does the 6 cyl trans tunnel have to be modified to house the th700 box?
yes this is true either bash it out a bit or one of my mates actually cut two sections out i think its the gears selection lever that gets in the way im pretty sure and he just welded two box type looking sections back in i reackon itd be easier givin it a bit of a beatin

Last edited by calaisv8; 27-06-08 at 08:11. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
calaisv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-08, 21:26   #37
bt1_67fkd
Player
 
Join Date: 03-01-06
Location: Brisbane, Annerley
Car: A free one
Trader Rating: (4)
Send a message via MSN to bt1_67fkd
Hey guys I went to put my 355 in on the wknd into the vl, however finding out that I didnt have a turbo box, had a trimatic. Drama here we come. Now I now that a TH400 is stronger, but having difficulities finding one in brisbane. Located a TH350, and bought it. Now just wondering if anyone knows exactly if I can use the front of the VN tailshaft to connect to the rear half of the vl v8 one?????? And do I have to get a Castlemain Rod Shop crossmember? or does anyone know of one to suit the application? (like modifing the original trimatic one??? Cheers for any help guys
bt1_67fkd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-08, 23:23   #38
calaisv8
Player
 
calaisv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-03-08
Location: NSW, East side
Car: calais
Trader Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bt1_67fkd
Hey guys I went to put my 355 in on the wknd into the vl, however finding out that I didnt have a turbo box, had a trimatic. Drama here we come. Now I now that a TH400 is stronger, but having difficulities finding one in brisbane. Located a TH350, and bought it. Now just wondering if anyone knows exactly if I can use the front of the VN tailshaft to connect to the rear half of the vl v8 one?????? And do I have to get a Castlemain Rod Shop crossmember? or does anyone know of one to suit the application? (like modifing the original trimatic one??? Cheers for any help guys
from what i know castle maine cross member for sure unless anyone knows beter??? and with the tailshaft im sure that will fit dude conecting at the uni joint good luck champ
calaisv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-08, 11:29   #39
bt1_67fkd
Player
 
Join Date: 03-01-06
Location: Brisbane, Annerley
Car: A free one
Trader Rating: (4)
Send a message via MSN to bt1_67fkd
bloody crossmember is now $190 delivered. So more money bye bye. lol. yea if anyone else knows for sure what to do with the tailshaft, please let me know. cheers guys
bt1_67fkd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-08, 15:59   #40
mrvkcalas
Player
 
mrvkcalas's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30-03-08
Location: VIC, frankston
Car: injected vk calais
Trader Rating: (2)
i dont think the th700 output shaft is the same as th350 but i no th350 and trimatic are compatible the cross member you should be able to use the trimatic or turbo 350 cross member im pretty sure it all bolts up
mrvkcalas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-08, 20:09   #41
bt1_67fkd
Player
 
Join Date: 03-01-06
Location: Brisbane, Annerley
Car: A free one
Trader Rating: (4)
Send a message via MSN to bt1_67fkd
Yes just checked tonight that the T700 shaft is different. I wish I new that earlier today about the crossmember, I have already paid them. oh well. Does anyone know where I could get a shaft to fit in brissy, prefer westside.. but will travel. and do I have to get tailshaft cut? or is does anyone know where I could get one?
Does the shifter from the trimatic, just turn around and bolt onto the T350???
bt1_67fkd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-08, 06:37   #42
aus880
Gold Members
 
Join Date: 19-06-02
Location: International, Worldwide
Car:
Trader Rating: (27)
made sticky, well done guys, good thread
__________________
Classic Pursuit Vehicle Register

www.Facebook.com/cpvr.com.au
"Real cars, real history"
aus880 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-08, 06:42   #43
NZ EVLHSV
Player
 
NZ EVLHSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-06
Location: NZ, Auckland
Car: Gen-F GTS
Trader Rating: (0)
Thanks Russ
NZ EVLHSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-08, 22:42   #44
johny_e
Player
 
Join Date: 19-05-07
Location: NSW, Newcastle
Car: VL Calais s2
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to johny_e
Does the K frame from VP-VS fit aswell or does it have to be from a VL or VN?
johny_e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-08, 16:50   #45
YBJLS4
Gold Members
 
YBJLS4's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-08-02
Location: Melbourne, Northern Suburbs (Melbourne)
Car: 88' Calaisturbo, 87' Calais 355, SV88 Walkinshaw Build#164
Trader Rating: (5)
Send a message via ICQ to YBJLS4
Just read through this tech article.. has anybody got a rough gestimate of what this sort of conversion would cost? and is it worth buying a damaged vn/vp/vr/vs/vt 5.0l for wrecking...
YBJLS4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-08, 17:26   #46
[SLY.747]
LMCT 696969
 
[SLY.747]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-02-06
Location: VIC, Albury/Wodonga Region
Car: VZ HBD Calais 5.7, XR5 Turbo with the lot lol
Trader Rating: (12)
i did the conversion 4 years ago for $3500-$4000 and that was paying a mechanic to do the labour, was done in 2 days! i dropped the car off minus the motor and box (was originally a vlt)
[SLY.747] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-08, 17:57   #47
calaisv8
Player
 
calaisv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-03-08
Location: NSW, East side
Car: calais
Trader Rating: (2)
i have a vk calais bought a vr caprice v8, bought a v8 k frame, so its goin straight in just gotta buy extractors and a wirin loom from this mob in vic so i can use all the dash lights all up including servicing the motor should be around $2500 (only because i gotta good deal with the motor) but yeah should be good
calaisv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-08, 19:07   #48
YBJLS4
Gold Members
 
YBJLS4's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-08-02
Location: Melbourne, Northern Suburbs (Melbourne)
Car: 88' Calaisturbo, 87' Calais 355, SV88 Walkinshaw Build#164
Trader Rating: (5)
Send a message via ICQ to YBJLS4
ive just purchased motor, loom, ecu, extractors... gess just need a v8 k-frame, auto, radiator and tailshaft modded. then just a few minor things
YBJLS4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-08, 16:52   #49
YBJLS4
Gold Members
 
YBJLS4's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-08-02
Location: Melbourne, Northern Suburbs (Melbourne)
Car: 88' Calaisturbo, 87' Calais 355, SV88 Walkinshaw Build#164
Trader Rating: (5)
Send a message via ICQ to YBJLS4
alryt guys i'm currently doing the conversion... now... i'm having trouble deciphering what steering rack to use.
currently purchasing vn v8 k-frame... now if i wanna run for example De Fillipo headers or so on... i dont want it to clash with the rack. Aftermarket headers have difficulty clearing the powersteering rack on the drivers side due to pipes/hoses. which way do i go so i dont encounter this problem..
This may be a dumb question; but if i need to use a vn rack, is v6 and v8 rack the same... or do i need to use one out of an 8, due to the clearance problem??
YBJLS4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-08, 07:22   #50
calaisv8
Player
 
calaisv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-03-08
Location: NSW, East side
Car: calais
Trader Rating: (2)
ide just use the vl rack dude not sure if v6 and v8 are different but i tried fittin up the vn rack, its completely diferent where it connects to the steering colum good luck with the conversion mate
calaisv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 16:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger