CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > calaisturbo.com.au > V8 Discussion
Tyres Now

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 27-10-09, 15:02   #1
richie$$
Player
 
richie$$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 13-05-05
Location: QLD, Gold Coast
Car: LS1 VL......Turbo *New Project*
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to richie$$
The Ls1 into VL Q & A's Thread

Hey guys ,

Since there is about 6 different threads, Here's the Q & A thread.

CRS engine mounts dont fit good as showen below in the two photo's. Using there mounts you will need there starter re-locator kit.





But even with the starter re-locater kit , there is no way in HELL you can run a N/A setup. Steering rack is still in the way as you can see in the photo's above.

I've started this thread to clear the air about some of the kits out there.
__________________
VL LS1 GT42R TURBO IN THE BUILD!!!

SOLD TO RICK @ EFI
richie$$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-09, 18:27   #2
Cocopopz
Death is hereditary
 
Cocopopz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15-10-08
Location: Melbourne, Eastern suburbs
Car:
Trader Rating: (6)
So csa (edit: CRS) is out, what about rod shop? what have you done with the gearbox xmember
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by genki
TO ME THIS IS THE EQUIV OF SEEING A TIGHT/SKINNY BITCH WITH HUUGE TITS!

Last edited by Cocopopz; 27-10-09 at 19:45.
Cocopopz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-09, 18:43   #3
[T]Matty
RIP VLT
 
[T]Matty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-11-04
Location: QLD, Sunny Coast
Car: 2012 ExtraCab Hilux 4X4, RB30DET 180SX
Trader Rating: (19)
CRS is Castle main rod shop..
__________________
[NOJ37]
[T]Matty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-09, 19:38   #4
Cocopopz
Death is hereditary
 
Cocopopz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15-10-08
Location: Melbourne, Eastern suburbs
Car:
Trader Rating: (6)
Damm my bad should of put some thought into that. What is the other company called that is making these conversion kits?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by genki
TO ME THIS IS THE EQUIV OF SEEING A TIGHT/SKINNY BITCH WITH HUUGE TITS!
.
Cocopopz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-09, 20:17   #5
Tones
Player
 
Tones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15-09-07
Location: NSW, Newcastle
Car: VL Calais S1
Trader Rating: (4)
CAE are the other people making kits.

Go to streetcommodores forum.

search for posts by Road_warrior

with search title "ls1" and you should find his thread on putting LS1 into VS.

It is by far the best write up of LSX into VB<VS commo.

Don't whine that it's not a VL because there is lots of very good info.

He is soon selling complete engine mounts in place of CAE items he tried, to which he had to add spacer blocks or similar because CAE items didn't have enough clearance between sump and k-frame. These new mounts add sufficient clearance and work because the same VL-VS V8 K-Frame is used.

He mentions they will be in the next edition of Street Commodores.

They are expensive though ($650). Also, the rear drivers side coil pack had to be moved slightly as the extra height caused fouling on brake booster.

Also. Don't waste money on kit bought extractors as they don't fit in most cases.

Read up ya'll.

Tones.

BTW has anyone seen how Liam from stcommos has managed to make "Project Turbulence" look so horrid with ugly rims and ludicrously large workshop sticker?
Tones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-09, 20:19   #6
richie$$
Player
 
richie$$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 13-05-05
Location: QLD, Gold Coast
Car: LS1 VL......Turbo *New Project*
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to richie$$
Gear box cross member is a custom item. I'm running a 2 speedglide. When I was looking i couldnt find anything else. I think most people get them made up. CRS stopped making there extractor kits. you can see why. *UCK all room!!!
__________________
VL LS1 GT42R TURBO IN THE BUILD!!!

SOLD TO RICK @ EFI
richie$$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-09, 20:22   #7
Tones
Player
 
Tones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15-09-07
Location: NSW, Newcastle
Car: VL Calais S1
Trader Rating: (4)
Excuse my possibly naeve question, but if you go adding height to a motor, that also changes the angle of the gearbox (as they are seen as a single rigid body) right? Does this interfere driveshaft angles etc?
Tones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-09, 20:26   #8
richie$$
Player
 
richie$$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 13-05-05
Location: QLD, Gold Coast
Car: LS1 VL......Turbo *New Project*
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to richie$$
I dont know. The tail shaft is getting made up as we speak. So far the motor and box is in straight and perfect. Coils clearance is fine in my bay also.
__________________
VL LS1 GT42R TURBO IN THE BUILD!!!

SOLD TO RICK @ EFI
richie$$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-09, 20:39   #9
Tones
Player
 
Tones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15-09-07
Location: NSW, Newcastle
Car: VL Calais S1
Trader Rating: (4)
Richie, what was/is the powerglide like to drive on the street with a small stally?

I want to put an LS1 + 4088R into a VL and have heard 4L60E's have strength issues above 500rwhp.....
Tones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-09, 21:09   #10
richie$$
Player
 
richie$$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 13-05-05
Location: QLD, Gold Coast
Car: LS1 VL......Turbo *New Project*
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to richie$$
Yeah the 4L60E need big money spent on it to hold up. Thats the main part of the reason why I went the 2 speed. I've had 2 speeds in my 26/30 setup and they are fine. Having big torque out of the v8 , it'll be no problem at all. I'l running a 3000rpm stall in my setup. Remember the limiter is around 6.5-7k - rpm.
__________________
VL LS1 GT42R TURBO IN THE BUILD!!!

SOLD TO RICK @ EFI
richie$$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-09, 01:03   #11
LANKS_87
Gold Members
 
LANKS_87's Avatar
 
Join Date: 13-05-07
Location: International, all over the shop
Car: VL Calais
Trader Rating: (4)
When I asked crs (castlemaine rod shop) about their conversion kits in January they sId they didn't make Any. Every component I got from cae (castlemaine automotive enterprises) was made poorly and didn't fit, though I like they starter motor. Richie can I ask what brake booster your using?
I used my vl automatic gearbox cross member with a vs auto gearbox mount for my 6 speed manual box.
Manual steering is a biatch!!
__________________
F**k off
LANKS_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-09, 08:56   #12
richie$$
Player
 
richie$$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 13-05-05
Location: QLD, Gold Coast
Car: LS1 VL......Turbo *New Project*
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to richie$$
I'm using the VL brake booster. I got my gear box cross member made up.
__________________
VL LS1 GT42R TURBO IN THE BUILD!!!

SOLD TO RICK @ EFI
richie$$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-09, 09:15   #13
ITG-05Z
streeter
 
ITG-05Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23-06-02
Location: Sydney, north shore
Car: Hiace, VL LS2 SUPERCHARGED 6 speed
Trader Rating: (30)
Send a message via MSN to ITG-05Z
you guys buy you 2k conversion kits with a starter motor which is not as commonly available when all you got to do really is move the steering rack 5mm across and it will all work which i have done i can show you pics i get some and show you guys how to save money with crap the shops sell which you dont need as long as your handy on the welder
ITG-05Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-09, 09:27   #14
Cocopopz
Death is hereditary
 
Cocopopz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15-10-08
Location: Melbourne, Eastern suburbs
Car:
Trader Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ITG-05Z
you guys buy you 2k conversion kits with a starter motor which is not as commonly available when all you got to do really is move the steering rack 5mm across and it will all work which i have done i can show you pics i get some and show you guys how to save money with crap the shops sell which you dont need as long as your handy on the welder


Show me how!!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by genki
TO ME THIS IS THE EQUIV OF SEEING A TIGHT/SKINNY BITCH WITH HUUGE TITS!
Cocopopz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-09, 12:42   #15
richie$$
Player
 
richie$$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 13-05-05
Location: QLD, Gold Coast
Car: LS1 VL......Turbo *New Project*
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to richie$$
Quote:
Originally Posted by ITG-05Z
you guys buy you 2k conversion kits with a starter motor which is not as commonly available when all you got to do really is move the steering rack 5mm across and it will all work which i have done i can show you pics i get some and show you guys how to save money with crap the shops sell which you dont need as long as your handy on the welder

Yeah the guy at the workshop got mine right.
__________________
VL LS1 GT42R TURBO IN THE BUILD!!!

SOLD TO RICK @ EFI
richie$$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-09, 18:26   #16
LANKS_87
Gold Members
 
LANKS_87's Avatar
 
Join Date: 13-05-07
Location: International, all over the shop
Car: VL Calais
Trader Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by richie$$
I'm using the VL brake booster. I got my gear box cross member made up.
yeah but double diaphragm brake booster? i got the double with the 1 inch and it hits i was thinking of goin the vt master and seeing hoe that goes.... everything fits perfect in mine now anyhow in 9 months i haven't had a single problem even though i had to modify all my conversion stuff..... the starter motor conversion was still worht doing.
__________________
F**k off
LANKS_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-09, 19:58   #17
ITG-05Z
streeter
 
ITG-05Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23-06-02
Location: Sydney, north shore
Car: Hiace, VL LS2 SUPERCHARGED 6 speed
Trader Rating: (30)
Send a message via MSN to ITG-05Z
i use a non power steering rack i use castlemain engine mounts i use genuine holden starter motor and i use the 6 speed and my engine doesnt go anywhere near the brake booster and i havent had any issues either mechanics feed guys that dont know anything and everything i will have tyhe car on the hoist tomorrow and will take pics used a vl auto crossmember and welded a plate across to suit the 6 speed all fits in awesome this conversion is not as hard as what some shops make it out to be if your in sydney (or anywhere in australia really) i am more than happy to lead you in the right direction my mate Jim from PITTWATER SERVICE CENTRE in Ryde done the conversion with me and is more than willing to do it for other guys if someones wanting to pay someone to do it, i am happy to give out his number if you pm me and please dont ring him to bust his chops as he doesnt have time to sit on the phone and just talk if your a genuine customer he is more than happy to help though

Quote:
Originally Posted by LANKS_87
yeah but double diaphragm brake booster? i got the double with the 1 inch and it hits i was thinking of goin the vt master and seeing hoe that goes.... everything fits perfect in mine now anyhow in 9 months i haven't had a single problem even though i had to modify all my conversion stuff..... the starter motor conversion was still worht doing.


thats a long time once i had all the money for this project took me 1 month to get it all going running etc

Last edited by ITG-05Z; 31-10-09 at 20:04. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
ITG-05Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-09, 13:02   #18
LANKS_87
Gold Members
 
LANKS_87's Avatar
 
Join Date: 13-05-07
Location: International, all over the shop
Car: VL Calais
Trader Rating: (4)
its been running for for 9 months it also only took me a month to put in, it isn't really a hard conversion just expensive.
__________________
F**k off
LANKS_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-09, 13:28   #19
exec5ltrvl
Player
 
exec5ltrvl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28-07-02
Location: Melbourne, Northen Suburbs
Car:
Trader Rating: (2)
My LS1 VL conversion been in for a year now and has completed about 130 track laps without a problem , needs some valve springs but thats it . I made my own engine mounts and used the mal wood starter conversion and modified CRS extractors and had no issues with clearence or fitting ( manual rack used ) .

As ITG O57 mentioned i also used a std gearbox mount modded to fit the 6 speed but had to bash out the tunnel a bit to fit in the reverse lockout solonoid from the gearbox.

adam
__________________
Sandown 1.23.30
Calder 1.05.72
Phillip Island 1.56.10
Winton 1.37.30

Last edited by exec5ltrvl; 01-11-09 at 13:31.
exec5ltrvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-09, 20:02   #20
Steve
( . Y . )
 
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-11-02
Location: Perth, WA - NOR
Car: Calais
Trader Rating: (31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tones
Richie, what was/is the powerglide like to drive on the street with a small stally?

I want to put an LS1 + 4088R into a VL and have heard 4L60E's have strength issues above 500rwhp.....
I'd look at a Th400 transmission....

And just wondering, are the CAE engine mounts the best to use? Dont bother with the CRS mounts?
__________________
Please Tell Your Boobs To Stop Staring At My Eyes...
Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-10, 19:22   #21
rattack
Player
 
Join Date: 17-01-10
Location: QLD, Sunshine Coast
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Everyone is stating that they are using manual steering rack. What about power steer? Has anyone got a work around for that?
rattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-10, 06:09   #22
AinPhil
Player
 
Join Date: 11-10-09
Location: VIC, Northern Suburbs
Car: VL BT1
Trader Rating: (1)
PM 'JETLGD', I was going to go an LS1 in my VL and he makes all his own engine mounts and stuff and he told me that he'd made a way to run Powersteering.
AinPhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-10, 17:48   #23
rattack
Player
 
Join Date: 17-01-10
Location: QLD, Sunshine Coast
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Thanks for the tip AinPhil, I will do that..
rattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-10, 18:31   #24
DA HOON
do it with junk, not $$$
 
Join Date: 25-08-02
Location: NSW, Wollongong
Car: hacked up vr with ls1
Trader Rating: (1)
Send a message via MSN to DA HOON
**** conversion kits, biggest waste of money.
__________________
she right, she registered...
DA HOON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-10, 11:19   #25
wilson33
Player
 
Join Date: 05-02-07
Location: QLD, brisbane
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
So has anyone on here managed to run power steering at all? Ive PM'd that JETLGD but curious to know about other peoples stories if they did it, and what rack was used.
wilson33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 19:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger