CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Technical > General, Electrics, Engine Management, Wheels, Bodywork
Calais Turbo Advertising

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 08-04-06, 16:58   #1
duz360
VOTE 1 HORSELL COMMON
 
duz360's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-06-04
Location: NSW, wollongong
Car: muppet mobile
Trader Rating: (79)
Send a message via MSN to duz360
afm cas spark idle problems? read this

i just found this info while browsing the net.


NO SPARK VL COMMODORES
System uses an LED crank angle sensor (CAS) within the distributor to generate a speed signal (360-degree for timing) and a position signal (120-degree signal) for the computer (ECU). The ECU then uses these 2 signals to generate a trigger to the power transistor (PT) bolted to the outside of the distributor. The PT uses this trigger to switch the -ve coil to ground to generate spark.
On top of the distributor is a 4 pin harness plug - this is the crank angle sensor. With this plug removed test the voltage on each pin of the female harness plug against ground (engine earth/battery -ve) with the ignition on (KOEO).
Should have 12v (battery volts from the EFI relay), earth (Ov), and on the remaining 2 pins - 5v on each (from ECU).
Ensure the distributor shaft is turning during cranking - cam belt.
With the engine cranking these 2 wires which had 5v on each are the important signals you are after - expect approx. 2.3v on one and 0.3v on the other. If the CAS has failed expect close to 5v OR close to 0.0v on one or both. If the signals are BOTH within 20% of specs., then
Check the signal from the ECU to the PT (fawn wire onto PT). If ECU is generating the correct signal expect approx. 0.4v. If a greater voltage, then you have an earth problem. If 0.0v then the ECU is not outputting the signal - ECU failed. If correct signal but still no spark then the PT has failed to switch the coil (rare) or the coil has failed (common).
To check the PT is switching the coil, use a normal test light from the +ve battery to the -ve coil (brown/red at PT). Your light should illuminate with KOF (ignition key off), and when the coil is switched to ground through the PT during cranking. If your test light flashes during cranking then PT is doing its job so coil has failed. If no flashing then PT has failed. Or if test light constantly lit, then PT has failed.


ROUGH IDLE VL COMMODORES
A common problem with the 3-litre Nissan engine is where the idle deteriorates to the point where it will not even run. Before that happens there is an initial loss of power, which just gets worse. A prime cause of this is the Air Mass Meter drifting beyond specifications - check the load pin (3rd in from back of engine - white wire) against an earth should have KOEO no less than 1.26v (excessive lean) and no more 1.32v (rich). If this load setting base is out, you won't be able to adjust the idle mixture (1st pin in from front of AMM) factory lean at 3.6v to richer say 2.0v to a satisfactory mixture - AMM will need replacing.
__________________
extreme turbo manifolds 0242 628774
used by australia's fastest 7.98@171 BOOSTN
duz360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-06, 17:45   #2
trypsi
Gold Members
 
trypsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-07-04
Location: NSW, central coast
Car: CULT CAR
Trader Rating: (10)
Do we have sticky
trypsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-06, 17:52   #3
duz360
VOTE 1 HORSELL COMMON
 
duz360's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-06-04
Location: NSW, wollongong
Car: muppet mobile
Trader Rating: (79)
Send a message via MSN to duz360
there is a rule saying i cannot sticky my own thread lol
__________________
extreme turbo manifolds 0242 628774
used by australia's fastest 7.98@171 BOOSTN
duz360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-06, 21:44   #4
JET-6
THE BANINATOR
 
JET-6's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18-06-02
Location: VIC, East Gippsland
Car: MK1 Esky 2 door(2.3 turbo), Patrol monster truck, and a EB2 XR6
Trader Rating: (68)
But i can!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by [T]Matty
good for signing up to gay sites


Email me @ thumpainc@bigpond.com
.
JET-6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-06, 22:43   #5
dimples
Official Member
 
dimples's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-11-04
Location: VIC, Point cook vic
Car: 05 Liberty, 86 vl Berlina, 12 swift sport
Trader Rating: (6)
Send a message via MSN to dimples
sounds like wat mite be the prob wiv my car
thanks guys good find
dimples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-06, 18:01   #6
Dan_84
Player
 
Join Date: 18-04-03
Location: VIC, Northern Victoria
Car: VL
Trader Rating: (12)
yeah ive done 2 cas, and 1 afm. pain in the arse!
Dan_84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-06, 21:24   #7
vlturbo33
SLOVLT
 
vlturbo33's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-09-06
Location: VIC, Melbourne
Car: VL Turbo SLOVLT. 9.90 145mph @31.5psi. Vs exec daily
Trader Rating: (4)
hey im ahvin the no spark problem at the moment i have pulled the cas put of a dizzy that wasnt in very good nick can i test it with out goin 2 da trouble of puttin it in n finding out it dnt work thanks
vlturbo33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-06, 16:15   #8
13FLAT
Gold Members
 
13FLAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-07-05
Location: QLD, Townsville
Car: Work ute, xtrail
Trader Rating: (3)
I was under the understanding that the higher the voltage between the number 1 pin and earth when you were moving the idle setting the richer ie 3.36 to 3.38 was a move to make the car richer ? It has always seemed to be correct when I have been fiddling with the afms that I have touched ? What is the go ?
__________________
60DNA ... the ta will rest for now to live and fight another day ...
13FLAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-07, 14:13   #9
SLO.BT1
too lazy for cars
 
SLO.BT1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-12-05
Location: NSW, motown
Car: factory berlina turbo,xbgs coupe,xc sedan,xp falcon sedan,stock white bt1,na fairlane,2011 hilux sr 4x4
Trader Rating: (1)
somebody please help!ive just swapped in an rb30et, and have no spark.it has new plugs, leads,cap,rotor button,have tried 2 coils, one which definately works,3 cas all proven to work,2 different power transistors,and it has voltage at the coil,and correct voltages at the cas with the key on.also tried 2 ecus, one which was working perfectly when removed 2 days ago, one working perfectly a few months ago.any suggestions?please?
__________________
twang twang shamalama ding dong.
SLO.BT1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-07, 14:28   #10
HoldenOn
Roll Cage Territory
 
HoldenOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-09-06
Location: WA, Busselton
Car: 2004 VZ Calais
Trader Rating: (6)
I had a Formula VLT which I sold last year which was runnin 12.3sec 1/4 miles with stock ECU and one extra injector controlled by microfueller. My tuner told me the settings for the AFM which I used to always stick to and it was perfect. Here are the settings;

Pins 2 & 6 (Ignition on but engine off) - 3.6 volts

Pins 2 & 3 (Engine running at idle and normal operating temp) - 2.2 volts

** Reducing Voltage Increases Richness **
HoldenOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-07, 15:37   #11
SLO.BT1
too lazy for cars
 
SLO.BT1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-12-05
Location: NSW, motown
Car: factory berlina turbo,xbgs coupe,xc sedan,xp falcon sedan,stock white bt1,na fairlane,2011 hilux sr 4x4
Trader Rating: (1)
so the afm has something to do with spark?i have another one there that ill swap in to try.anything else please tell cause im desperate!
__________________
twang twang shamalama ding dong.
SLO.BT1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-07, 15:59   #12
HoldenOn
Roll Cage Territory
 
HoldenOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-09-06
Location: WA, Busselton
Car: 2004 VZ Calais
Trader Rating: (6)
I dont believe the AFM is related to spark. My post was just to give knowledge to anyone in regards to the AFM.
HoldenOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-07, 21:15   #13
DVLISH
Player
 
DVLISH's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-05-06
Location: Sydney, west
Car: vl calais
Trader Rating: (2)
i dont understand which pins you test...the ones on the afm itself or on the plug?
__________________
RB30's receive more HEAD jobs than Hugh Hefner
DVLISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-07, 21:08   #14
HoldenOn
Roll Cage Territory
 
HoldenOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-09-06
Location: WA, Busselton
Car: 2004 VZ Calais
Trader Rating: (6)
While the AFM is plugged in, slide the boot back on the plug, then push the probes of the multimeter into where the wiring goes into the plug.
HoldenOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-07, 13:39   #15
Bec@Aznew
Player
 
Join Date: 16-10-07
Location: Melbourne, South East
Car: VH Sle 308
Trader Rating: (0)
Hey Guys
I used to work at a place called
INJECTRONICS in Hallam Vic.
They deal in reco AMM and also sell a heap of CAS's.
We sold a heap of VL AMM!!!
If you guys are having trouble diagnosing give them a call they have a FREE technical support help line ... the guys there Steve and Shannan will be more than happy to help you out.
Bec@Aznew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-07, 18:16   #16
mag
Player
 
mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18-02-07
Location: Adelaide, Nth of Adelaide
Car: VL 86 RB30 Executive Auto
Trader Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoldenOn
I had a Formula VLT which I sold last year which was runnin 12.3sec 1/4 miles with stock ECU and one extra injector controlled by microfueller. My tuner told me the settings for the AFM which I used to always stick to and it was perfect. Here are the settings;

Pins 2 & 6 (Ignition on but engine off) - 3.6 volts

Pins 2 & 3 (Engine running at idle and normal operating temp) - 2.2 volts

** Reducing Voltage Increases Richness **
Hey which way do the pins run??

1 2 3 4 5 6 OR 6 5 4 3 2 1

My AFM is a Bosch unit but has N0 pin numbers but some are numbered so I've been told..

Last edited by mag; 24-11-07 at 18:19.
mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-07, 18:15   #17
mag
Player
 
mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18-02-07
Location: Adelaide, Nth of Adelaide
Car: VL 86 RB30 Executive Auto
Trader Rating: (2)
Anyone know the pin numbers on the AFM, pin 4 and pin 5 don't mean **** if you don't know which 1 is which
mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-07, 18:31   #18
theVLguy
Gold Members
 
theVLguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21-05-06
Location: Brisbane, southside
Car: VL turbo
Trader Rating: (5)
all your AFM info http://wiki.r31skylineclub.com/index.php?title=AFM

theVLguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-07, 18:37   #19
mag
Player
 
mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18-02-07
Location: Adelaide, Nth of Adelaide
Car: VL 86 RB30 Executive Auto
Trader Rating: (2)
[QUOTE=theVLguy]all your AFM info http://wiki.r31skylineclub.com/index.php?title=AFM



That's fantastic VLguy thanks

Wonder why mine hasn't got the pins numbers

Last edited by mag; 30-11-07 at 19:49.
mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-08, 18:47   #20
mag
Player
 
mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18-02-07
Location: Adelaide, Nth of Adelaide
Car: VL 86 RB30 Executive Auto
Trader Rating: (2)
Cas

Crank Angle Sensor, if you replace it you must do the top bearing too!!!

Because that's the most likely thing that killed the CAS in the 1st place..

Buy the kit and it has the CAS of course, new rubber boot, 4 terminals, plug, bearing and instructions...

Last edited by mag; 26-02-08 at 19:00.
mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-08, 18:31   #21
steveo_69
Player
 
Join Date: 14-09-05
Location: Melbourne, eastern suburbs
Car:
Trader Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mag
Crank Angle Sensor, if you replace it you must do the top bearing too!!!

Because that's the most likely thing that killed the CAS in the 1st place..

Buy the kit and it has the CAS of course, new rubber boot, 4 terminals, plug, bearing and instructions...
where do you get this kit from??
steveo_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-08, 22:47   #22
mag
Player
 
mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18-02-07
Location: Adelaide, Nth of Adelaide
Car: VL 86 RB30 Executive Auto
Trader Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveo_69
where do you get this kit from??
Hey , I don't if i can help with you being in Melb as I got mine from Outlaw Speed shop so in melb try Repco, Autobarn, Burson Auto Parts, your local Auto sparky

Last edited by mag; 14-08-08 at 22:55.
mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-08, 17:40   #23
steveo_69
Player
 
Join Date: 14-09-05
Location: Melbourne, eastern suburbs
Car:
Trader Rating: (2)
no worries will try 2moro cheers

i take it the kit is just called a CAS kit lol
steveo_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-08, 20:01   #24
mag
Player
 
mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18-02-07
Location: Adelaide, Nth of Adelaide
Car: VL 86 RB30 Executive Auto
Trader Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveo_69
no worries will try 2moro cheers

i take it the kit is just called a CAS kit lol
Yes The kit has the bearing, CAS of course , new connector terminals and rubber boot and instructions.

ACA brand is the one you want
mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-08, 20:02   #25
steveo_69
Player
 
Join Date: 14-09-05
Location: Melbourne, eastern suburbs
Car:
Trader Rating: (2)
cheers mate
steveo_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 08:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger