CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Technical > General, Electrics, Engine Management, Wheels, Bodywork
G-Cylinder

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 24-02-11, 18:27   #51
Gab dH
Gabjax
 
Gab dH's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-11
Location: VIC, Central Vic
Car: Now: 86 VL Calais. Then:87 VL Exec.
Trader Rating: (7)
Send a message via MSN to Gab dH
hey mate, not yet she still parked lol, waiting on a new xover pipe and afm will update as soon as i get it running
Gab dH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-11, 21:00   #52
Willson
Player
 
Join Date: 26-06-11
Location: NSW, Newcastle
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gab dH View Post
hey mate, not yet she still parked lol, waiting on a new xover pipe and afm will update as soon as i get it running
Just a suggestion, I once had a problem with my car that he fusebox was actually loose, I went over the whole car from fuel pump to air flow meter. Then my friend came round and jiggled the fusebox, the fuse rail was loose enough to jiggle round and cancel connection for the ignition fuse intermittently, thus killing the engine.

This resulted in the ECU displaying the code for Ignition also. Most definitely even if your fairly sure its in good condition take out your fuse rail and inspect it for corrosion or bad connections on the ignition fuse. A very frustrating thing that one was. Replaced many unneeded parts.

Never heard the end of it from my friend from that one haha.
Willson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-11, 21:03   #53
Gab dH
Gabjax
 
Gab dH's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-11
Location: VIC, Central Vic
Car: Now: 86 VL Calais. Then:87 VL Exec.
Trader Rating: (7)
Send a message via MSN to Gab dH
Thanks for the info!
I should have updated this ages ago ha ha, afm wire had snapped.
New crossover and afm got her running again
__________________
New Calais=New Problems <3
Buy swap sell
Gab dH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-11, 21:06   #54
Willson
Player
 
Join Date: 26-06-11
Location: NSW, Newcastle
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gab dH View Post
Thanks for the info!
I should have updated this ages ago ha ha, afm wire had snapped.
New crossover and afm got her running again
did you mean the hot wire? Im experiencing similar problems with an engine i just installed in my vl as the ones you said from before.the cutting out and running like a bag of ****, missing etc..
.
Willson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-11, 21:09   #55
Gab dH
Gabjax
 
Gab dH's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-11
Location: VIC, Central Vic
Car: Now: 86 VL Calais. Then:87 VL Exec.
Trader Rating: (7)
Send a message via MSN to Gab dH
Yeah hot wire!
Was good for a few months, but in true Vl fashion having fuel issues now haha. Gotta love them
__________________
New Calais=New Problems <3
Buy swap sell
Gab dH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-11, 21:12   #56
Willson
Player
 
Join Date: 26-06-11
Location: NSW, Newcastle
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gab dH View Post
Yeah hot wire!
Was good for a few months, but in true Vl fashion having fuel issues now haha. Gotta love them
If the AFM was screwed you would get the code up on the ecu right? Sorry just trying to eliminate things...
Willson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-11, 21:15   #57
Gab dH
Gabjax
 
Gab dH's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-11
Location: VIC, Central Vic
Car: Now: 86 VL Calais. Then:87 VL Exec.
Trader Rating: (7)
Send a message via MSN to Gab dH
Even with the hotwire broken I didn't get an error code. If you can get it to idle try unplug the afm and you should be able to hear the revs change.

If you can't get it to idle try get hold of a known working afm $10-20 on this site and swap it in.
__________________
New Calais=New Problems <3
Buy swap sell
Gab dH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-11, 21:19   #58
Willson
Player
 
Join Date: 26-06-11
Location: NSW, Newcastle
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Thanks ill check that out also.
Willson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-12, 23:57   #59
MSTR-VL
Player
 
MSTR-VL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-11-11
Location: Sydney, Sydney
Car: 88 VL SL
Trader Rating: (0)
my afm is currently reading 1.26V meaning borderline lean, tried turning the adjusting screw clockwise but nothing changed... where do i go from here ?
MSTR-VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-13, 22:04   #60
chem
Player
 
Join Date: 20-11-03
Location: NSW, Northern NSW
Car: vl executive
Trader Rating: (2)
too late now but for reference years ago when i wired up my CAS i mixed up a wire and blew the fuseable links. These are the little ones coming off the +ve battery terminal. from memory light green wire and orange. you can swap this for one off another car in 1 minute. currently working on some other CAS issues I may add.
chem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-15, 23:14   #61
rbmafia
Player
 
Join Date: 30-11-14
Location: QLD, mackay
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
so i checked my 3rd white wire on the afm, its 1.33v.. thats .01 of a volt different to what it says not to have.. 1.32, it blows black smoke so im going to guess it is the afm after all, but could i assume its ok cause its only .01 out?
rbmafia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-15, 08:29   #62
deanoVLCT
MODERATERRRRR
 
deanoVLCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-05
Location: Melbourne, City
Car: Car: Hq gts coupe - Vl Sl turbo bt1 - Vl nitron - Vl v8 1k001 berlina - Fg xr6 ute - LJ coupe - LX slr 5000 rep
Trader Rating: (24)
I would assume that's fine!
deanoVLCT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 16:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger