CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > calaisturbo.com.au > VL Non-Turbo Discussion
GRUNT Performance

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 30-03-04, 13:32   #26
Mrman_1
Player
 
Join Date: 28-05-02
Location: Adelaide
Car:
Trader Rating: (3)
If you keep the high compression it will have more power than a stock vlt. Between 5 and 10 rwkw more.
Mrman_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-04, 17:29   #27
sr20trx
Player
 
sr20trx's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-06-02
Location: Perth, Atwell
Car: R31 Skyline GTSII - 340rwHP
Trader Rating: (0)
Nice site well done

I have done this conversion myself however and would like to add.

Quote:
Oil & water lines for turbocharger $50-$100
That was a bargain!....I gave up trying to find them, and had Pirtek make me some up, which came to around $300.
Try to get a VLT T3 with lines included, it will save a lot of hassle and $$$

Quote:
A decompression plate is suggested for any decent boost level
Ewww.....'VLT Pistons' are suggested for any decent boost level

Quote:
Camshaft is not necessary
True it will run with NA cam, but it is not efficient, turbo will be working harder, kinda like forcing air against brick wall as lift and duration of cam not correct.
In effect your turbo runs higher boost levels, for same rwHP figure as car with Turbo spec cam.

Quote:
N/A manual box is a lot weaker than the turbo manual
True MX7 Box is mighty tough, but my NA box has survived over 12months of 280rwHP and Button clutch....keep NA box see how you go, especially if on Budget.

Quote:
But Holden made a small mistake that gave their 6 cylinder VL commodores a bad name. They mounted the radiator higher in the body than the engine was designed for
Did'nt Holden mount the Radiator to low, due to VL's Swoopy (for day) nose cone, resulting in lack of water to head...causing heads to crack?
__________________
http://www.pbase.com/psi_gtsii
http://www.pbase.com/gts2turbo
http://www.pbase.com/gts2turbo2
sr20trx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-04, 15:04   #28
Katsa
Gold Members
 
Katsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-08-04
Location: Melbourne, northern suburbs
Car: [EX.RTA] Kimberly bronze BT1
Trader Rating: (7)
that is great stuff vlvoom....just wondering how long did the conversion take you to do???
Katsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-04, 20:51   #29
SyP40n
Player
 
Join Date: 24-05-02
Location: VIC, Eastern Suburbs
Car: R31 Skyline
Trader Rating: (4)
Send a message via ICQ to SyP40n
Quote:
Originally Posted by scary
Great site man - it's helped me out heaps!

Im really interested in the Turbo ECU Conversion but the link is down...

http://imflame.ricetek.net/~darkhalf/

Do u have any ideas why its not working?

Cheers
I know this comment was made ages ago but his site is now at the following address.

http://darkhalf.r31skylineclub.com/
.
SyP40n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-04, 12:39   #30
antonio_6
Registered User
 
Join Date: 24-09-04
Location: Auckland, Pt Chev
Car: 1987 VL Royale
Trader Rating: (0)
awesome stuff vlvoom... I've never thought about doing a conversion, but your site makes it look easy with simple, easy to follow instructions. At least I know where to look when I decide to do it one day.
antonio_6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-04, 20:54   #31
Sixes350
Player
 
Sixes350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21-11-04
Location: NT, North Katherine (Palmerston)
Car: VS BT1
Trader Rating: (2)
Send a message via MSN to Sixes350 Send a message via Yahoo to Sixes350
NICE WORK INDEED, Is there anyone that has done a V8 conversion? Im opting for either for my n/a
Sixes350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-04, 18:10   #32
billboy84
Player
 
Join Date: 27-11-04
Location: NSW, Newcastle
Car: VL Commodore (will be when its ready)
Trader Rating: (0)
The v8 conversion means you basically have to change a lot of the front of the car around such as the cross member and most likely gearbox mounts and unless your going to do a lot of work on the 308 i wouldnt bother
billboy84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-04, 05:46   #33
str
Player
 
str's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-12-04
Location: Perth, Australia
Car: VL 88 N/A RB30E
Trader Rating: (0)
Hey fellas, I been reading alot of stuff about N/A RB30E conversions to RB30ET...

The only thing I dont get on this website --> http://members.optushome.com.au/smbrooks/turbo.htm is it says

"If you're building an RB30ET and use a VL series 1 engine block, you need to put a T-piece in the oil pressure sender hole in the block and use one of those for the turbo oil feed line."

Is it a bad thing to turbo up a Series 1 engine block? Has anybody here turbo'ed up a Series 1 N/A RB30E?

Thanks
Regards, Rob
__________________
VL 88 N/A RB30E (WTB: RB30ET engine!!!)
str is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-05, 08:47   #34
headworm
Player
 
Join Date: 28-07-04
Location: ACT, Gordon
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
i don't think it matters mate, but if its series 1 you will have to put the T-piece on the oil pressure sender.
headworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-05, 22:00   #35
michael2427
Official Non-VL Owner
 
michael2427's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-03
Location: VIC, Ballarat
Car: Coming Soon
Trader Rating: (10)
That site is really handy thanks heapz!!!
michael2427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-05, 00:25   #36
Slayar
Player
 
Slayar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-08-04
Location: NSW, Newcastle
Car: VL Calais or CANT (Calais And Non Turbo)
Trader Rating: (2)
Send a message via MSN to Slayar
Very Good Read
Is it in the N/A section cause you Turbo Boys are trying to give us a Hint
__________________
Nissan Guts.. For Holdens Glory
Slayar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-05, 00:08   #37
xeturbo
Player
 
xeturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 31-05-05
Location: ACT, Canberra
Car: My two Feet, needs funds to finish Calais
Trader Rating: (9)
Send a message via MSN to xeturbo
just wanting to know, how well the car would work running stock NA computer, injectors etc, running stock boost? interested to see how it would last, and would it have any problems if not flogged running stock na everything?
xeturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-05, 15:06   #38
joe25482
Player
 
joe25482's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-08-05
Location: VIC, horsham
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Top site,
my mate turbo'd his wagon, he drove it hard for a year and a half, stock boost, no cooler, stock fuel,turb,gbox,n/a lsd diff and it took everything he threw at it(but did go through 3 n/a clutches doin burnouts every time he drove).

no vlt cam,pistons and no decomp plate - and it didnt ping.
had heaps more power and torque than a stock VLT. He beat my r33 gts-t (stock - 186 flywheel kw, bout 300nm torque, weighs bout the same as a vl) easily. and my skyline had a bigger exhaust and cold air intake.

he then chucked a cooler, malpassi fuel reg and boost controller on it, and dynoed at 160rw kw @ 10psi.
After this the diff blew while doing a 3gear burnout...now has a VLT diff which is minispooled.

Turbo'ing ur n/a heap of junk is a good idea if u want to go fast...(ill be chuckin a turb on my Vl wagon soon)
joe25482 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-05, 16:51   #39
88vl
turbotim
 
Join Date: 23-07-04
Location: VIC, southwest vic
Car: 88vlt, 1970 hg prem project
Trader Rating: (12)
Send a message via MSN to 88vl
did he have turbo ecu and injectors??
88vl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-05, 12:49   #40
joe25482
Player
 
joe25482's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-08-05
Location: VIC, horsham
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
ya of course man...although there pretty much 100% duty cycle at 14psi of boost...going for bigger injectors and aftermarket ecu i think.
joe25482 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-05, 17:48   #41
88vl
turbotim
 
Join Date: 23-07-04
Location: VIC, southwest vic
Car: 88vlt, 1970 hg prem project
Trader Rating: (12)
Send a message via MSN to 88vl
do you have to change ur rego..tell vic roads that it is a converted turbo or wat do u do there??
do u have any problems regerstering insuring an na motor if it never came out turbo??
88vl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-05, 19:41   #42
vlt-dreamer
Player
 
vlt-dreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27-06-03
Location: Melbourne, Northern Victoria
Car: Black Territory
Trader Rating: (64)
It will require an engineers certificate to make sure brakes etc are all turbo items otherwise you may find your rwc will be void and in the case of an accident if the assessor picks up on it you may be declined for an insurance claim.
__________________
Too old for VL's now...:(
vlt-dreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-05, 23:34   #43
88vl
turbotim
 
Join Date: 23-07-04
Location: VIC, southwest vic
Car: 88vlt, 1970 hg prem project
Trader Rating: (12)
Send a message via MSN to 88vl
bugger... would an engineers cert. be worth much?? where is the best place to go to get one??
thanks regards tim
88vl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-05, 22:15   #44
Da_Junior
Player
 
Join Date: 23-08-05
Location: Adelaide, North Eastern Adelaide
Car: Vl commodore 86
Trader Rating: (0)
Da_junior

Awlsome web page mate, i love what you've done by tidying up the engine. What a DREAM CAR!!!!!

cheers mate
Da_junior
Da_Junior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-05, 22:30   #45
Stewart10
Player
 
Stewart10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-10-05
Location: VIC, eastern
Car: VL SL and VL Berlina!!!!
Trader Rating: (1)
yeah the page is real good, but at the moment the custom dash page is down, i think it would be good to show instructions for adding a berlina or Calais instrument cluster with tacho. because i know a few people who want to do it but dotn know how hard it will be, including myself
Stewart10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-05, 16:22   #46
88vl
turbotim
 
Join Date: 23-07-04
Location: VIC, southwest vic
Car: 88vlt, 1970 hg prem project
Trader Rating: (12)
Send a message via MSN to 88vl
for the tacho dash u jsut swap it striaght over.. the wires are allready there
and for the thing about rego etc.. i rang vic roads and they said if the turbo conversion is factory for a car of that model then u dont need an engineers certificate..only if u use non stock parts, like twin cam head etc..
88vl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-05, 13:32   #47
Stewart10
Player
 
Stewart10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-10-05
Location: VIC, eastern
Car: VL SL and VL Berlina!!!!
Trader Rating: (1)
yeah, but i think that if you were converting you would want to put the RB25 or RB26 head on because then you got twin cam so it can rev alot harder, and might lessen turbo lag, not sure about the lag tho
Stewart10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-06, 13:03   #48
AFG-WPN
Armin Van Buuren
 
AFG-WPN's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-10-04
Location: VIC, northern
Car: D34DLY R34 356rwkw :) :) :)
Trader Rating: (20)
Send a message via MSN to AFG-WPN
top site, learned alot from it.
__________________
BASET AUTOTECH
22 MILLER STREET, EPPING
9401-5809
AFG-WPN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-06, 20:50   #49
MxPx VL
DEETS
 
MxPx VL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-06
Location: Melbourne, Northern Suburbs
Trader Rating: (11)
Any Updates to how things are running?

Just wondering how the N/A auto held up? did you add a tranny cooler? How did the diff hold up? and would you recommend upgrading the fuel supply eg. pumps, regulator, surge tank. otherwise awsome site!!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanoVLCT View Post
Bloody love hate with vlts dead set wanna kill it sometimes
MxPx VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-06, 17:31   #50
TOOLMAN
Player
 
TOOLMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-07-06
Location: Sydney, MERRYLANDS
Car: VL CALAIS TURBO
Trader Rating: (0)
/hey mate where did you get your deomp plate from
TOOLMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 13:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger