CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Technical > Technical Articles
JD CUSTOM

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 07-02-07, 12:29   #76
_Sawyer_
Player
 
_Sawyer_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-05-05
Location: Melbourne, Western Suburbs
Car: Vl Calais/Aero RB30DET GONE, My baby is GONE
Trader Rating: (9)
Hey all im currently in the process of firing up an rb25det in my vl but im totally stuck with the wiring. I have a complete r33 manual with more wiring looms illiustrated in it than you can poke a stick at, and I had an auto electrician come and try to start it for me and I still dont know where to start. does any know of any auto elecs in melbourne that can do it or any advice or help. Thanks
__________________
If it isn't Holden...........**** OFF
_Sawyer_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-07, 16:52   #77
poohkies
no it's a calais not a vl
 
poohkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-05-03
Location: Brisbane, Kenmore
Car: VL Calais Turbo,Autech 260rs, GT Spec B Liberty wagon, R33 4 door daily
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to poohkies Send a message via Skype™ to poohkies
believe the is a shop in Brisbane that does loom, as in full conversion looms, int's in brisbane or the gold coast, will try and find out the name for u
poohkies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-07, 20:03   #78
VL Drift
Player
 
VL Drift's Avatar
 
Join Date: 31-10-06
Location: Sydney, South
Car: VL Berlina Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
Wiring isnt as hard as you'd think it would be. Main things are power to the efi relay and fuel pump relay. I've wired 2x rb20's and both these had the relays already on the harness, just needed powering up. That came from in the fuse box in the engine bay. You need to hook up a starter signal from the ignition switch to the computer, and wire up the instruments. Instruments are easy, you just probe the wires on each of the sensors and find the other end of them at the computer side then wire them into the VL plugs under the glovebox. You also need to play with the alternator harness near the battery a bit too.
Hard to explain all this properly here, but it's not that big a drama. It took me a couple of nights to do mine, but i had no idea. I did my mates one in a couple of hours after i knew what i was doing. My other mate wired up his Rb25 himself using the origional harness, no problems.
VL Drift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-07, 15:05   #79
_Sawyer_
Player
 
_Sawyer_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-05-05
Location: Melbourne, Western Suburbs
Car: Vl Calais/Aero RB30DET GONE, My baby is GONE
Trader Rating: (9)
Thanks VL Drift and poohkies, I didnt think there was THAT much to it. I rang a few places locally like rajab n they all wanted around $1000 to fire up a ****en ecu. i could get an apexi ecu for that. thanks for confirming what I thought isnt a big job
__________________
If it isn't Holden...........**** OFF
.
_Sawyer_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-07, 19:36   #80
VL Drift
Player
 
VL Drift's Avatar
 
Join Date: 31-10-06
Location: Sydney, South
Car: VL Berlina Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Sawyer_
Thanks VL Drift and poohkies, I didnt think there was THAT much to it. I rang a few places locally like rajab n they all wanted around $1000 to fire up a ****en ecu. i could get an apexi ecu for that. thanks for confirming what I thought isnt a big job
Screw $1000! Do it yourself for free. No wonder these guys have such cool race cars, they make a fortune overcharging people. All you need is a soldering iron, sidecutters, some heatshrink tube and elec tape. Oh, and a multimeter. I just used a Nissan wiring diagram that also had ecu pins marked out and a Gregorys manual for the VL side. And a bit of brainpower.
Goodluck with it.
VL Drift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-07, 12:25   #81
revelry
I hate cars.
 
revelry's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-05-04
Location: Adelaide, East
Car: Fairlane
Trader Rating: (1)
Send a message via MSN to revelry
Does anyone have 3.7 diff ratio with an RB20DET?
__________________
The Rotary engine, Communism worked in theory too.
revelry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-07, 18:31   #82
VL Drift
Player
 
VL Drift's Avatar
 
Join Date: 31-10-06
Location: Sydney, South
Car: VL Berlina Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by revelry
Does anyone have 3.7 diff ratio with an RB20DET?
Nah 4.11 for me.
VL Drift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-07, 13:41   #83
$tyl€
Player
 
$tyl€'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 27-04-06
Location: Brisbane, Northen suburbs
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Well i did my convertion on the weekend the dump pipe fits and i made my own from after the dump down to the cat. the only problem i hav is the wiring part i got told to leave the battery side for the alltonator and starter motor so i have done that but how do i get it to link into the ecu harness? any help would be great
$tyl€ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-07, 20:56   #84
Gm-187
Player
 
Gm-187's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-03-07
Location: Melbourne, south east
Car: VR BT1 V6
Trader Rating: (5)
Send a message via MSN to Gm-187
hay got a vl just wondering how much u could put a rb25 in for me ??? i am in warrnambool
Gm-187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-07, 14:54   #85
jedsjet
Player
 
jedsjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-09-07
Location: VIC, BALLARAT
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
i am doing the rb20 conversion i have a half cut and i have changed all the things listed above i am wondering how much will it cost me to get someone to wire it all up?
jedsjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-07, 19:24   #86
sohc2
10.6@127mph
 
sohc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-07-07
Location: NSW, South Coast
Car: 10 second sleeper
Trader Rating: (21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedsjet
i am doing the rb20 conversion i have a half cut and i have changed all the things listed above i am wondering how much will it cost me to get someone to wire it all up?
Depends who you know... $250 to $500...
sohc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-07, 20:04   #87
burgo88
Gold Members
 
burgo88's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-07
Location: Perth, south river
Car: vlt (BOOOSTN), VE GTS, RB26DETT GU Patrol
Trader Rating: (8)
Send a message via MSN to burgo88
dos anyone have the wiring i need to connect to get my 25 motor running in my vl ?? its all in and done i powered relay up so comp turns on but no go :s not too sure wats going on !!
__________________
aint life great wen my 6 beats ur 8 hahaha
burgo88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-07, 17:21   #88
Sled
Player
 
Sled's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-10-07
Location: QLD, Bundy
Car: Red over Silver VLCT [TUF.747]
Trader Rating: (1)
Hey guys, just have a quick question.

My calais currently has a n/a motor with a mx7 5 speed box. Just wondering if I can keep the mx7 behind the rb20? what clutch should I use?

Or should I just put the rb20 box in aswell? are the ratios very different?

thanks
Sled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-07, 07:55   #89
sohc2
10.6@127mph
 
sohc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-07-07
Location: NSW, South Coast
Car: 10 second sleeper
Trader Rating: (21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sled
Hey guys, just have a quick question.

My calais currently has a n/a motor with a mx7 5 speed box. Just wondering if I can keep the mx7 behind the rb20? what clutch should I use?

Or should I just put the rb20 box in aswell? are the ratios very different?

thanks
Man dont put the RB20DET box in it they are weak as piss. Put the MX7 in it, you may need to change the bush though to suit the size of the input shaft on your MX7.

Clutch depends on how much power your putting out... for 160-200 RWKW id just put in a heavy duty clutch. For 300+ RWKW id be looking at twin plates.

Ciao.
__________________
lllMAATOUKS RACING
Making dreams become a reality!
sohc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-08, 18:42   #90
VLRB20DET
Time for another NISSAN!
 
VLRB20DET's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-07-03
Location: VIC, Warrnambool
Car: 2010 WR450F
Trader Rating: (10)
How you goin everyone, Ive had alot of people ask me about the wiring diagrams, Ive found a CD with a rb20 wiring diagram and a heap of other info
on it

the files are in PDF format, anyway if I can find a place to host them then its all yours,

like I said to most people who have sent me PM's etc I got JPC to wire the engine up when I had the car

if you are really getting stuck check out skylinesaustralia forum (I think there was a NZ skyline forum which was helpfull too back when I was doing the conversion..


Just a quick few reply's

Revelry- Nah go 4.11's otherwise you are just loosing out on the full potential of the RB20, you can get the gears out of an old skyline

Gm-187 - Nah had enough trouble when I had mine although I know a bloke who is doing that kind of work around wbool, send me a PM for his name

sohc2 - im with you on that dont bother using the RB20 box use a RB25 or MX-7, I snapped the output shaft on one (rb20) when i ran it down the strip
VLRB20DET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-09, 22:08   #91
phantom_t
Player
 
phantom_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-08-04
Location: WA, Perth NOR
Car: VESSThunder,Vl Calais Series 2 rb25det, 1990 Vette
Trader Rating: (1)
Just curious, are people on here saying that the vl ecu be used to run the rb20 with minimal mods?

another question: i am thinking about getting an rb25 for my vl! i would have to run the rb25 wiring loom for this, correct? if so would it be hard to wire it up to the ignition?
also does the rev signal just hook up to the same wire that the vl uses?
can all the bolts be used from the vl, as in alternator, pwr steering etc?
thanks
__________________
Turbo Time, TuTuTuTuTuuuu
phantom_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-09, 10:31   #92
5spdvl
Aaaaaaand it's gone.
 
5spdvl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-07-07
Location: VIC, City
Trader Rating: (22)
Yes, you must use the RB25 loom. This is a twin cam motor, it is completely different from the SOHC RB30.

The rev signal will not hook up the same way. You will need to make a small circuit to get your dash (or any other tacho) working.

Seen here:

http://calaisturbo.com.au/showthread.php?t=20937
5spdvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-10, 18:30   #93
wantedVL
Player
 
Join Date: 30-05-10
Location: Perth, northern
Car: vl commodore
Trader Rating: (0)
rb20 vl

gday mate ive got a vl commodore ive done the rb20det conversion with the manual gearbox. im having troubles when it comes to the wiring can u recommend anything everything is bolted in and fine ive got the rb30 alt, and starter in the rb20 it turns over fine just when it comes to the ecu and fuel i have no idea..
wantedVL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-10, 23:13   #94
PSI086
You Can't Polish A Turd
 
PSI086's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28-05-02
Location: TAS, Over there
Car: One of those
Trader Rating: (13)
Send a message via ICQ to PSI086 Send a message via MSN to PSI086
Everything you need to know about wiring it up is here. RB25 pinouts are identical to RB20. Ignore the fuel pump bit though as you just need to run the trigger from the ecu straight to the dark green wire as the RB20/25's use the same relay set up as a VL

http://wiki.r31skylineclub.com/index...ET_into_an_R31
PSI086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-10, 19:13   #95
phantom_t
Player
 
phantom_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-08-04
Location: WA, Perth NOR
Car: VESSThunder,Vl Calais Series 2 rb25det, 1990 Vette
Trader Rating: (1)
I have just disconnected the vl harness from the two plugs under the glove box! are these connectors from the fuse box and i assume dash! or somewhere else! if so which colour is the fuse and dash!
thanks!
__________________
Turbo Time, TuTuTuTuTuuuu
phantom_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-10, 22:11   #96
PSI086
You Can't Polish A Turd
 
PSI086's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28-05-02
Location: TAS, Over there
Car: One of those
Trader Rating: (13)
Send a message via ICQ to PSI086 Send a message via MSN to PSI086
Keep those plugs and use them for your power supplies. The fuel pump trigger wire is also in one of the plugs. Pretty much cut every wire out of the loom besides the oil pressure sender, battery signal for dash, coolant sender for dash, crank signal, fuel pump and +12v and ignition wires and intergrate it all into the RB20 engine loom.
PSI086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-10, 21:37   #97
Nackerz
Mechanic at Holden/Nissan
 
Nackerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-08-09
Location: VIC, High Country
Car: Vl Turbo, VN SS, VY SV8
Trader Rating: (8)


---------- Post added 20-08-10 at 21:42 ----------

I also found a link

http://wiki.r31skylineclub.com/index..._into_an _R31
__________________
I like sex like I like my basketball, one on one and not much dribbling going on!
Nackerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-10, 21:07   #98
vlrb20d
Player
 
Join Date: 28-11-10
Location: NSW, mount druitt
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
i washed my engine bay and it wont start

its got the rb20 no top cover on it and it started 1 time after cleaning the engine bay and it was running like a dog any 1 no what to do cheers

---------- Post added 28-11-10 at 21:08 ----------

i washed my engine bay and it wont start

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

its got the rb20 no top cover on it and it started 1 time after cleaning the engine bay and it was running like a dog any 1 no what to do cheers
vlrb20d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-10, 21:30   #99
-pumba-
[JETLAG]
 
-pumba-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 21-08-07
Location: SA, Seaford Rise
Car: Silverslate VLC+T/06 CBR1000RR/02 VY SV8
Trader Rating: (28)
prob got water in the coil packs
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbonez View Post
Shelve it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gab dH View Post
as in leave it on a shelf? not very constructive..
-pumba- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-12, 15:34   #100
Madvlmike
Player
 
Madvlmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-10-11
Location: Auckland, Te Atatu south
Car: 1988 vl Royale commodore
Trader Rating: (0)
just use the loom the 20det comes with and the 20det computer, then get sparke to wire it up to the dash.
Madvlmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 05:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger