CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > walkinshaw.net > Technical
G-Cylinder

 

 

Thread Tools
Old 14-01-04, 16:50   #1
craig
Player
 
craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-11-03
Location: NZ, pukekohe
Car: VS GTS 215 6 speed, VZ SV6, 2013 Hilux
Trader Rating: (1)
more power

I have owned my walky for 2 years ,Ive put a 3inch exhast on it,COME racing chip,electric fan,takin restrictor out,10mm leads,msd coil,It has run a 13.6 1/4 on 18in simmons,which I thought was pretty good.Rest of engine is stock as ,my mte can make me 2in extractors so thats the next thing on the list.What other little things can I do to improve power.I dont want to pull the engine apart eg cam heads as ,I want to build a stoker in the future.
craig is offline  
Old 15-01-04, 00:22   #2
Stretch_W
Player
 
Join Date: 23-09-03
Location: Perth, Northern Suburbs
Car: Stretch Walkinshaw, VHSS 355i, Hilux Surf, AP6 Valiant
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to Stretch_W
You're right...13.6 is prety good! I would have said a cam package and some increased comp would be the next step unless you want to pursue forced induction???

I think Holden are still selling 355 short motors for $2000, or there abouts. The only ****ty thing is the pistons, or should I say, ashtrays!!! I would go for a decent set of pistons that will bump your comp to somewhere between 9.5 and 10 to 1 and choose a nice lumpy stick. I just put and COME Racing CSBH-462 in the limo. I'm really impressed with it funtionality and output. That sort of cam and comp increase should easily give you a increase of at least 50hp.

Sorry I havent really answered your question.
Stretch_W is offline  
Old 27-01-04, 06:35   #3
NZ VLTURBO
Player
 
NZ VLTURBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-08-02
Location: NZ, The Hub
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
One word, CAM!

I reckon you should slip a bigger cam in, cause its hardly taking the engine to bits.

A stage 3 cam and zero timing gear from CAMTEC in Sydney is a sweet cam.
__________________
Work harder! Thousands on welfare depend on you!
NZ VLTURBO is offline  
Old 27-01-04, 09:09   #4
craig
Player
 
craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-11-03
Location: NZ, pukekohe
Car: VS GTS 215 6 speed, VZ SV6, 2013 Hilux
Trader Rating: (1)
Yeah Do I have to pull the heads off to do a cam?.How much is a cam ,il need a new chip wont I ,What power gains will this give me.
.
craig is offline  
Old 27-01-04, 13:50   #5
Walkie
Player
 
Join Date: 07-04-03
Location:
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
13.6 is a good time mate, have you had it on the dyno?
Walkie is offline  
Old 28-01-04, 05:59   #6
craig
Player
 
craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-11-03
Location: NZ, pukekohe
Car: VS GTS 215 6 speed, VZ SV6, 2013 Hilux
Trader Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkie
13.6 is a good time mate, have you had it on the dyno?

NO I havnt had it on the dyno yet ,Will put it on dyno after I fit extractors and crane coil energiser,IM also going to lower diff ratio to 3.45,I rekon it will do a 13 flat with sticky tyres,Well heres hoping anyway.
craig is offline  
Old 28-01-04, 07:41   #7
Walkie
Player
 
Join Date: 07-04-03
Location:
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
If you are ever considering putting a bigger cam in it then go for 3.91's, you will love them. Previously I couldn't use 5th unless I was doing 110, now I can use 5th from about 80. Revs do go up, but at 100kph in 5th I am doing about 2350, up from about 1800.
Walkie is offline  
Old 28-01-04, 15:12   #8
craig
Player
 
craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-11-03
Location: NZ, pukekohe
Car: VS GTS 215 6 speed, VZ SV6, 2013 Hilux
Trader Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkie
If you are ever considering putting a bigger cam in it then go for 3.91's, you will love them. Previously I couldn't use 5th unless I was doing 110, now I can use 5th from about 80. Revs do go up, but at 100kph in 5th I am doing about 2350, up from about 1800.

Yeah ive got a set of 4.11 in the shed could fit them,was going to use them in Turbo Calais.
craig is offline  
Old 30-01-04, 10:27   #9
NZ VLTURBO
Player
 
NZ VLTURBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-08-02
Location: NZ, The Hub
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Naa, you dont have to pull the heads off. Cams go for around three hundred bucks usually.
__________________
Work harder! Thousands on welfare depend on you!
NZ VLTURBO is offline  
Old 30-01-04, 15:13   #10
craig
Player
 
craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-11-03
Location: NZ, pukekohe
Car: VS GTS 215 6 speed, VZ SV6, 2013 Hilux
Trader Rating: (1)
What cam is yours exactly,did you get a new chip made up or what?,When does the cam come in ,At the momet mine doest move till 3800rpm,from memory,Havnt drivin it for 3months,COME racing do cams wonder what they are like?
craig is offline  
Old 30-01-04, 20:35   #11
NZ VLTURBO
Player
 
NZ VLTURBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-08-02
Location: NZ, The Hub
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
You can get it rechipped, but I dont think you have to. And if you have already got stuff from COME then they'll probably know what you can and cant do.
__________________
Work harder! Thousands on welfare depend on you!
NZ VLTURBO is offline  
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 17:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger