CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > calaisturbo.com.au > Car Audio
LSX Garage - Performance has a new home...

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 03-06-12, 18:42   #1
Sabo
Player
 
Sabo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24-03-09
Location: VIC, Dandenong
Car: 04 WK Statesman on 20's.
Trader Rating: (9)
Short circuit = subs working?

Hey guys

I installed a set of subs, with an amp in my car today.

Im using a high level converter as my rca output.
I used my two rear speakers off the parcel shelf.

Now, the subs only work when i touch the positive and negative together for a split second......

If i start it and run the subs, they dont work.
Amp powers on as well.... so the amp, power, is fine.

it has something to do with the rca/high level converter?
__________________
Quote:
I'd rather push a V8 then drive a Hybrid.
Sabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-12, 19:13   #2
Petrievl
VSTONV
 
Petrievl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-12-11
Location: Melbourne, South Eastern Suburbs
Car: Vs Berlina, Vl Calais.
Trader Rating: (0)
have you installed a surge protector? it might be getting to much power and overloading.
__________________
faarken stustustu, if i wasnt a p-plater..
Petrievl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-12, 20:02   #3
Sabo
Player
 
Sabo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24-03-09
Location: VIC, Dandenong
Car: 04 WK Statesman on 20's.
Trader Rating: (9)
no i havent, didnt think youd need one??

the fuse is set at 60A.

When the car is turned off, then turned on. the subs wont work untill you put the positive and negative of the two speaker wires from the line converter together for a second, then they kick in......

And it works for the rest of the time the car is on?
__________________
Quote:
I'd rather push a V8 then drive a Hybrid.
Sabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-12, 20:15   #4
Petrievl
VSTONV
 
Petrievl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-12-11
Location: Melbourne, South Eastern Suburbs
Car: Vs Berlina, Vl Calais.
Trader Rating: (0)
even if its not the problem you should still install them, stops from anything blowing up, so its a good investment,

as for that, how good is the earth? you may need to clean them or it just might be a bad connection somewhere?
__________________
faarken stustustu, if i wasnt a p-plater..
.
Petrievl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-12, 17:34   #5
Sabo
Player
 
Sabo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24-03-09
Location: VIC, Dandenong
Car: 04 WK Statesman on 20's.
Trader Rating: (9)
isnt that what fuses are ment for.

subs work fine once the positive and negative for the line converter have touched for a split second, i dont know why it plays stupid with me. :S
__________________
Quote:
I'd rather push a V8 then drive a Hybrid.

Last edited by Sabo; 04-06-12 at 17:36.
Sabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-12, 12:31   #6
HTURBO
Pushing Limits
 
HTURBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-09-08
Location: VIC, Gippsland
Car: 05 VZ HSV Clubsport R8 daily / VL calais turbo manual / 05 CRF450R
Trader Rating: (3)
What's a line convertor? Is that a speaker wire to RCA convertor?
__________________
Sorry Sir, l'll stop drinking & Surfing

Last edited by HTURBO; 05-06-12 at 14:02.
HTURBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-12, 16:19   #7
patch
[ZUTUTU]
 
patch's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-06
Location: Sydney, Lower North Shore
Trader Rating: (12)
Send a message via MSN to patch
Yeh, it is ^ also known as LOC's ( Line Out Convertors)
patch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-12, 00:20   #8
Sabo
Player
 
Sabo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24-03-09
Location: VIC, Dandenong
Car: 04 WK Statesman on 20's.
Trader Rating: (9)
^ spot on, no one have any idea why?
ive litrelly put them a mm apart, so whenever i hit a bump. it turns the subs on.... lol

---------- Post added 06-06-12 at 00:24 ----------

edit: the wires i mean
__________________
Quote:
I'd rather push a V8 then drive a Hybrid.
Sabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-12, 00:38   #9
Gab dH
Gabjax
 
Gab dH's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-11
Location: VIC, Central Vic
Car: Now: 86 VL Calais. Then:87 VL Exec.
Trader Rating: (7)
Send a message via MSN to Gab dH
When I did that I ran the positive of each channel to centre pin of the RCA only, connecting the negative made it buzz and not work...
__________________
New Calais=New Problems <3
Buy swap sell
Gab dH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-12, 20:23   #10
patch
[ZUTUTU]
 
patch's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-06
Location: Sydney, Lower North Shore
Trader Rating: (12)
Send a message via MSN to patch
Here's a basic diagram

Did you hook it up this way...?

patch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-12, 19:39   #11
Sabo
Player
 
Sabo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24-03-09
Location: VIC, Dandenong
Car: 04 WK Statesman on 20's.
Trader Rating: (9)
thats exactly how i hooked it up....
edit: but the calais come with two extra subs in the rear parcel shelf. i just took it off those
__________________
Quote:
I'd rather push a V8 then drive a Hybrid.
Sabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 08:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger