CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > calaisturbo.com.au > VL Non-Turbo Discussion
Calais Turbo Advertising

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 14-12-14, 16:37   #1
MRMRG
Player
 
MRMRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-11-14
Location: Sydney, South West
Car: 1986 Vl Calais
Trader Rating: (0)
VIPEC Plug in Ecu

Just wanted to know if anyone has used a vipec plug in ecu on here or maybe even the Link ecu equivalant? They seem to be pretty sneaky in the way they Can be placed into the stock ecu case which is a good thing. Anyone that has upgraded to one of them I'd like to hear your thoughts about these Ecu's. I also hear they can run without an AFM? Also how are they for cold starts etc.. Also any decent places in Sydney to get them tuned/installed?
MRMRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-14, 19:26   #2
Duke57TT
Missile Performance
 
Duke57TT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-03-07
Location: NSW, Queanbeyan
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to Duke57TT
I have a friend that uses them, does everything he wants. Single cammer, big cam. Starts and idles awesome, he has all the IAC valve and everything wired up and runs it all. Setup anti lag the other day, pretty straight forward.
__________________
Rubber Braided and Teflon Braided Hose For Sale.Click Me! Add us on Facebook!! Email - missileperformance@live.com.au
Duke57TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-14, 14:36   #3
MRMRG
Player
 
MRMRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-11-14
Location: Sydney, South West
Car: 1986 Vl Calais
Trader Rating: (0)
That's what I like to hear. Could you recommend a tuner in sydney?
MRMRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-14, 21:02   #4
Duke57TT
Missile Performance
 
Duke57TT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-03-07
Location: NSW, Queanbeyan
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to Duke57TT
Not really, just ring around. It is pretty straight forward ECU and software package. Here in Canberra Jakes Performance did this one.
__________________
Rubber Braided and Teflon Braided Hose For Sale.Click Me! Add us on Facebook!! Email - missileperformance@live.com.au
.
Duke57TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-14, 07:37   #5
vin-vlt
Gold Members
 
vin-vlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 25-08-05
Location: Adelaide, Sleeper City
Car: Calais Turbo 10.08 @ 135.7mph Street Trim
Trader Rating: (2)
Anyone got any info on cost for this unit? Roughly and what else is required or is it just a straight plug in? Internal MAP sensor?
vin-vlt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-14, 08:13   #6
MRMRG
Player
 
MRMRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-11-14
Location: Sydney, South West
Car: 1986 Vl Calais
Trader Rating: (0)
I would also like to know

---------- Post added 16-12-14 at 09:18 ----------

"Advan Performance" have the Link g4 plug in ecu on ebay for $2,160. I'm not sure if that's just for ecu itself or ecu+tune.
MRMRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-14, 11:59   #7
Duke57TT
Missile Performance
 
Duke57TT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-03-07
Location: NSW, Queanbeyan
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to Duke57TT
Internal map from memory and it wasn't a cheap ECU so the price sounds about right. I don't think it was quite that much. All the specs are on the website AFAIK and the manual is available for down load.
__________________
Rubber Braided and Teflon Braided Hose For Sale.Click Me! Add us on Facebook!! Email - missileperformance@live.com.au
Duke57TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-14, 19:28   #8
my30et
Player
 
my30et's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-06-09
Location: NSW, lennox head
Car: vl calais turbo , wrx
Trader Rating: (0)
vipec n link ecu r ***n awesome , 1 of the best ecu's on the market , a fair they tuners r starting 2 use them
my30et is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-14, 08:28   #9
3lturbo
.................
 
3lturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-11-09
Location: International, .
Trader Rating: (0)
Awesome computers, in terms of Link pricing $2100 sounds like it's just for the G4 Extreme. The Storm is roughly around $500 less, and the Atom is around $1100. I've got a couple friends using the Storm in their drag cars and have had no problems what so ever.
3lturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-14, 08:31   #10
MRMRG
Player
 
MRMRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-11-14
Location: Sydney, South West
Car: 1986 Vl Calais
Trader Rating: (0)
I have another question about the link plug in ecus. Are they just all just called "plug in" or are there others apart from the g4 that plug in. I know about the extreme etc but I thought they were wire-in jobs.

---------- Post added 18-12-14 at 15:58 ----------

I'm also guessing that the plug in ecus wouldn't work with an aftermarket crank/cam trigger setup?
MRMRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 23:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.