CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Technical > LPG GAS Specific
LSX Garage - Performance has a new home...

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 07-09-11, 06:27   #1
Born2xlr8
SirGeo's Bitch
 
Born2xlr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23-10-05
Location: VIC, Pakenham
Car: VLCT-86
Trader Rating: (5)
Gas question,

just had a question to whats the minimum required to get gas to flow out of a gas converter,

we powered the 2 solenoids (the one at the tank and the one in the engine bay) but cant get gas to flow out of the converter,

the reason is that we have a 202 that were trying to start so weve gotten a long pipe and taken it from the converter of another car and run it to the Throttlebody of the 202,

so were obviously missing somthing,

thanks
__________________
VLCT-86 auto
95 VR Ute 5lt

Interested in starting a Car club for the SE Sub's of Vic Brettvella@bigpond.com
Born2xlr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-11, 10:45   #2
Cuz
Player
 
Cuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15-09-04
Location: Melbourne,
Car:
Trader Rating: (1)
gas won't flow until there is vacuum pulling on the diaphragm of the converter to make it flow. If you need gas to flow for it to initially start then you need a primer. or push the primer button on the top of the converter. assuming you are talking about B2 and GRA TB here.
Cuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-11, 13:07   #3
Born2xlr8
SirGeo's Bitch
 
Born2xlr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23-10-05
Location: VIC, Pakenham
Car: VLCT-86
Trader Rating: (5)
Ok mate cheers. Yeah its a b2, and gas reaserach tb, ill give it another shot this arvo


Cheers
__________________
VLCT-86 auto
95 VR Ute 5lt

Interested in starting a Car club for the SE Sub's of Vic Brettvella@bigpond.com
Born2xlr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-11, 17:03   #4
Cuz
Player
 
Cuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15-09-04
Location: Melbourne,
Car:
Trader Rating: (1)
the fact that you have a long pipe is likely the problem. would be hard to get the gas to travel all the way to the TB just under vacuum of the engine while starting. That's why the have a primer (either manual one on the top of the conv or a solenoid based one connected to a switch)
.
Cuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-11, 18:04   #5
Born2xlr8
SirGeo's Bitch
 
Born2xlr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23-10-05
Location: VIC, Pakenham
Car: VLCT-86
Trader Rating: (5)
yeah mate the long pipe was the problem, looked under the bracket and fount the primer and away she went, thnaks
__________________
VLCT-86 auto
95 VR Ute 5lt

Interested in starting a Car club for the SE Sub's of Vic Brettvella@bigpond.com
Born2xlr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-11, 20:13   #6
misk
what 2jz?
 
misk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-03-06
Location: Melbourne, coburg
Trader Rating: (8)
Send a message via MSN to misk
you can make up a primer using a solenoid by putting a fitting in the lower part of the converter and adding the solenoid. then you can activate it from inside the car.
another option is try a softer secondary spring in the gas converter.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATMO_BT1
You obviously drive stick, but i'm not sure about the monaro.
misk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger