CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > calaisturbo.com.au > V8 Discussion
Oz Drive - Driver Education

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 30-01-11, 17:57   #1
UNONT2
Oh Yeah?
 
UNONT2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-04-07
Location: NZ, TeKauwhata
Car: 1987 Maroon Over Silver VLCT,VH SL/X Wagon(304 Turbo V8 Build)
Trader Rating: (2)
T5 gearbox into vl

hey guys,done a search but didnt really find what i was looking for,im putting a 304 and a t5 into a vl and need help with the clutch set up.all of the gear is coming out of a vr ss.

ok questions are:

will the vr ss manual pedal box fit into the vl with no mods?


Do i have to drill a hole in the firewall for the clutch cable?


Or is it possible to convert the box to hydraulic clutch?

another option would also to be just swap the clutch pedel over so the cable can fit onto the top,but i still have to bring the cable through the firewall somehow?what has everyone done?

thanks
UNONT2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-11, 18:00   #2
TUXEDO
Locky
 
TUXEDO's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-07
Location: SA, Inner Northern Suburbs
Car:
Trader Rating: (18)
get a pedal box from a VH or VK..
TUXEDO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-11, 18:07   #3
UNONT2
Oh Yeah?
 
UNONT2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-04-07
Location: NZ, TeKauwhata
Car: 1987 Maroon Over Silver VLCT,VH SL/X Wagon(304 Turbo V8 Build)
Trader Rating: (2)
will a vn pedalbox work,either a v6 or v8?

---------- Post added 30-01-11 at 21:57 ----------

and also any one no what to do with the spedo cable as their is an electronic senson in there at the momoet,will the vl spedo drive fit in there?and will i need the spedo sensor,does the ecu need this?
UNONT2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-11, 19:52   #4
tomovl355
Player
 
tomovl355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23-10-06
Location: Brisbane, North of brisy
Car: vl 355 calais manual & VZ S2 R8 MALOO
Trader Rating: (0)
any vb - vl cable pedal box will work the later ones don't fit up.
.
tomovl355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-11, 09:53   #5
FLY-03L
Official Member
 
FLY-03L's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-02-10
Location: NSW, New South Wales
Car: 5 Speed VL SL
Trader Rating: (6)
No, vn-vs pedals dont fit. You actually need a VB-VK V8 pedals for the cable T5.
Or convert the T5 to hydraulic and use your manual VL pedals... i dont know anything about this but have heard that it can be done. do some more homework and find out what your options are and let us know.. ill be doing this conversion in 12 months time or so when im on a full license so im keen to know! goodluck
__________________
'87 SL VL Build Thread
FLY-03L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-11, 11:28   #6
UNONT2
Oh Yeah?
 
UNONT2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-04-07
Location: NZ, TeKauwhata
Car: 1987 Maroon Over Silver VLCT,VH SL/X Wagon(304 Turbo V8 Build)
Trader Rating: (2)
ok i have decided to convert it to hydraulic ,and use the vl slave cylinder.busy taking measurements now seeing weather the vl slave will giv enough traven tof the clutch,otherwise i will need to make up a pivot system
UNONT2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-11, 23:25   #7
Farrout
Official Member
 
Farrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-07-09
Location: QLD, Country
Car: VL 5 sp, 07 Hilux SR5
Trader Rating: (0)
Very interested to see what you come up with. I've put this combo in my VL but went with the vb - vk cable pedal box. The VL ICANDY which was featured in Street Commodores a while back has a T5 with a hydraulic conversion. I spoke to the guy who did it and he used a VL 6 master cyl with a custom made slave cyl to suit the travel needed and the fluid displacement of the master.
Farrout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-11, 16:28   #8
Injection
Official Member
 
Injection's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28-05-02
Location: Perth, WA
Car: VS III Grange #153
Trader Rating: (4)
I ran a cable T5 in my old VL Calais. I just got a VK pedal box. For the speedo, as it also had an injected V8 I had an inline pulse generator fitted so the computer got it's signal, but the cable still went to the speedo.
__________________
http://www.brockcommodores.com - Home of the HDT Commodore.
VSIII Grange #153
Injection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-11, 17:01   #9
UNONT2
Oh Yeah?
 
UNONT2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-04-07
Location: NZ, TeKauwhata
Car: 1987 Maroon Over Silver VLCT,VH SL/X Wagon(304 Turbo V8 Build)
Trader Rating: (2)
ok,cheers,any idea where you got that from mate?
UNONT2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-11, 19:31   #10
NASTY1
[IMPRSVE]
 
NASTY1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17-03-06
Location: International, adelaide
Car:
Trader Rating: (4)
yeah the only box pedlas that work are vb-vk v8 ones.

i have a pedal box setup if you change your mind and stay cable.''

cheers
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by emmalah
will consider all swaps cars, bikes ,goats,

what do you have?
NASTY1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-11, 17:22   #11
FLY-03L
Official Member
 
FLY-03L's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-02-10
Location: NSW, New South Wales
Car: 5 Speed VL SL
Trader Rating: (6)
while we're on the topic of EFI T5 conversions.. are there off the shelf extractors that fit using power steering?
__________________
'87 SL VL Build Thread
FLY-03L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-11, 18:29   #12
UNONT2
Oh Yeah?
 
UNONT2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-04-07
Location: NZ, TeKauwhata
Car: 1987 Maroon Over Silver VLCT,VH SL/X Wagon(304 Turbo V8 Build)
Trader Rating: (2)
im hopeing the aftermarket extractors that came off the vr ss will fit,but iv heard that vn extractors fit so i dont see why a set or aftermarket vn extractors wont fit
UNONT2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-11, 19:18   #13
NASTY1
[IMPRSVE]
 
NASTY1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17-03-06
Location: International, adelaide
Car:
Trader Rating: (4)
pacemaker do them.the hsv headers fit just
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by emmalah
will consider all swaps cars, bikes ,goats,

what do you have?
NASTY1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-11, 19:43   #14
FLY-03L
Official Member
 
FLY-03L's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-02-10
Location: NSW, New South Wales
Car: 5 Speed VL SL
Trader Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NASTY1 View Post
pacemaker do them.the hsv headers fit just
what are the pacemakers to suit? ie vn ss or whatever... they clear using 5L power steering, aircon and a T5?
__________________
'87 SL VL Build Thread
FLY-03L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-11, 20:18   #15
NASTY1
[IMPRSVE]
 
NASTY1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17-03-06
Location: International, adelaide
Car:
Trader Rating: (4)
I'm 99% sure packed do them to suit. Best to ring pacemaker I just used hsv headers with manual rack
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by emmalah
will consider all swaps cars, bikes ,goats,

what do you have?
NASTY1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-11, 17:35   #16
Injection
Official Member
 
Injection's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28-05-02
Location: Perth, WA
Car: VS III Grange #153
Trader Rating: (4)
I just bought an off the shelf set of pacemakers. although I did have to put a little scollop in teh collector near the rack.

I got the pulse generator from an electronics repair shop. Was a pretty standard readily available unit. Cost about $20 from memory.
__________________
http://www.brockcommodores.com - Home of the HDT Commodore.
VSIII Grange #153
Injection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-11, 18:16   #17
UNONT2
Oh Yeah?
 
UNONT2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-04-07
Location: NZ, TeKauwhata
Car: 1987 Maroon Over Silver VLCT,VH SL/X Wagon(304 Turbo V8 Build)
Trader Rating: (2)
ok and how did you make that work,any pictures of it,i emailed the rod shop and they want $169 and i have to use my ootigional speed sensor.thats a right angled unit.will i need it in a right angled unit?
UNONT2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-11, 22:29   #18
Injection
Official Member
 
Injection's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28-05-02
Location: Perth, WA
Car: VS III Grange #153
Trader Rating: (4)
mine wasn't a right angled unit. I'll post a pic up when I can, or PM me your email address.
__________________
http://www.brockcommodores.com - Home of the HDT Commodore.
VSIII Grange #153
Injection is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 14:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger