CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > calaisturbo.com.au > V8 Discussion
GRUNT Performance

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 21-01-10, 13:48   #26
Cocopopz
Death is hereditary
 
Cocopopz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15-10-08
Location: Melbourne, Eastern suburbs
Car:
Trader Rating: (6)
Do you have to run the starter relocation mod? What happens if you dont?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by genki
TO ME THIS IS THE EQUIV OF SEEING A TIGHT/SKINNY BITCH WITH HUUGE TITS!
Cocopopz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-10, 14:37   #27
richie$$
Player
 
richie$$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 13-05-05
Location: QLD, Gold Coast
Car: LS1 VL......Turbo *New Project*
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to richie$$
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilson33
So has anyone on here managed to run power steering at all? Ive PM'd that JETLGD but curious to know about other peoples stories if they did it, and what rack was used.

I'm running power steer. Yes ive got the starter re-locator kit. I'll find out from the workshop. But i'm sure its the STD VL rack.
__________________
VL LS1 GT42R TURBO IN THE BUILD!!!

SOLD TO RICK @ EFI
richie$$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-10, 21:50   #28
wilson33
Player
 
Join Date: 05-02-07
Location: QLD, brisbane
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by richie$$
I'm running power steer. Yes ive got the starter re-locator kit. I'll find out from the workshop. But i'm sure its the STD VL rack.
that would be great mate. Curious to know what needs done to fit it, im suprised more people havent ran power steering.

A mate has offered me a VN 5L power steering rack, or ive still got my VL 6cyl power steering rack here. Did you need to get custom lines made up or anything to suit it?(might depend what rack is used also).
wilson33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-10, 07:05   #29
richie$$
Player
 
richie$$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 13-05-05
Location: QLD, Gold Coast
Car: LS1 VL......Turbo *New Project*
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to richie$$
I pretty sure its still my VL 6cyl one. Used the STD power steer lines and they had to pe extended. But once I get time to go to the shop I will ask the question. Been way to busy to think about my VL.
__________________
VL LS1 GT42R TURBO IN THE BUILD!!!

SOLD TO RICK @ EFI
.
richie$$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-10, 11:38   #30
WPN.747
Player
 
WPN.747's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: VIC, western suburbs
Trader Rating: (6)
just asking saying you do the work by yourself not with the conversion kits what you boys looking at spending to get it going?
__________________
WPN747

why have stupid custom plates, when you can have standard issue ones!
WPN.747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-10, 17:19   #31
simo18
Player
 
simo18's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30-10-06
Location: VIC, echuca
Car: Postie Bike
Trader Rating: (3)
Im looking at coverting a Vl to a Ls1 6 speed.

CSR mount kit- $1800 inclds starter all engine, gearbox mounts
Wirring loom - $900 send them both vl body loom and ls1 engine loom and
they will basically make it all plug in

Personally i think the CRS kit is a waste of money, i will do the mounts myself. But the wiring kit sounds like money well spent
simo18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-10, 20:39   #32
tim_355
Player
 
tim_355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15-12-05
Location: VIC, Geelong
Car: 88 VL Calais Gen III, VZ Crewman, VX SS.
Trader Rating: (0)
I made my own engine mounts, custom 4 into 1's and relocate the starter all with power steering. standard VL V8 rack genuine VT-VZ high pressure power steering line, and bent it to suit at the rack end and flex hose for the return line, no problems everything works as it should.
[IMG][/IMG]
tim_355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-10, 20:39   #33
DamoGTS
Player
 
DamoGTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17-12-08
Location: NZ, Waipukurau
Car: 3L Bogan VL
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to DamoGTS
hi, just a quik question. wat about the fuel lines. iv heard somthing about the ls1 doesnt run a return line or somthing. and wat did u guys with the 6speed setup, wat did u do bout the clutch??? cable or hydrolic????

---------- Post added 24-04-10 at 10:42 ----------

im going to build my vl into a drifter. also wats involved with the sump. i want to run with a baffeld 1 to stop oil pik up issues.
DamoGTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-10, 19:19   #34
LANKS_87
Gold Members
 
LANKS_87's Avatar
 
Join Date: 13-05-07
Location: International, all over the shop
Car: VL Calais
Trader Rating: (4)
Hydaulic clutch just have to bore out the 6 cylinder one.... With fuel all you have to do is run a return line
__________________
F**k off
LANKS_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-10, 11:11   #35
PUNISH
Player
 
PUNISH's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-04
Location: Melbourne, S.E
Car: VX Clubby R8 & VU SS
Trader Rating: (7)
i bought fuel rails off ebay. they cost $250 and are complete ****. i spent another $150 trying to fix them up. under pressure the rails were lifting off the injectors and pissing fuel everywhere.

i ended up drilling out one end and putting a fitting on the standard fuel rail and run a adjustable fuel reg. works a treat.

my experiences...........

CAE engine mounts = **** i had plates made up to lift the engine higher as sump hit on the k-frame.

CAE gearbox mount = ****. holes were in totally wrong spots had to redrill and its weak its already bending.

CAE wiring loom = waste of money. guy on ebay doing changeover looms for $450

CAE headers = **** needed to modify them they hit the floor

CAE starter relocation kit - only good thing they produce for ls1 conversion.


for clutch im running vs series 3 pedal box and slave cylinder. you would be able to rig up the slave cylinder with the vl pedal box.

im using standard vx ls1 power steering lines. fit straight up no modification needed.

Last edited by PUNISH; 06-05-10 at 11:14.
PUNISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-10, 11:25   #36
LANKS_87
Gold Members
 
LANKS_87's Avatar
 
Join Date: 13-05-07
Location: International, all over the shop
Car: VL Calais
Trader Rating: (4)
I used the cae products aswell I encountered the same problems as TOPGEAR
__________________
F**k off
LANKS_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-10, 14:30   #37
sik-vl
Player
 
Join Date: 16-10-08
Location: Sydney, campbelltown
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
i have a set of engine mounts ans an ac high mount setup for a ls1 into vb-vs for sale
sik-vl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-17, 11:43   #38
Wkd_Vl
Player
 
Wkd_Vl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-02-09
Location: Melbourne, S.E
Car: VLT & Vz SV8
Trader Rating: (24)
can anyone tell me whats the go with having it manual. what pedal box do i need and any other bits

thanks
Wkd_Vl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-17, 04:40   #39
VLWAGONIT
Gold Members
 
Join Date: 11-07-06
Location: WA, SOR
Car: Vlc wagon, 08 Husqvarna TE510, 89 GSXR 1100
Trader Rating: (20)
Send a message via MSN to VLWAGONIT
I used a standard vl pedal box and got the master cylinder bored from 5/8 to 3/4 and had custom lines made up to suit the t56 slave cylinder
__________________
I just want enough power to rip single leggers on wet grass
VLWAGONIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-17, 07:23   #40
Wkd_Vl
Player
 
Wkd_Vl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-02-09
Location: Melbourne, S.E
Car: VLT & Vz SV8
Trader Rating: (24)
also if running turbo ls1 do you still need starter recolate kit
Wkd_Vl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-17, 23:57   #41
Morgz
Morgzano Racing
 
Morgz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28-01-04
Location: VIC, Ballarat
Car: VS exec forged LS3 + S482
Trader Rating: (27)
Send a message via MSN to Morgz
yes
__________________
Morganzo Racing
Morgz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-17, 11:14   #42
VX_Matt
Player
 
Join Date: 24-02-11
Location: ACT, Gungahlin
Car: VX SS
Trader Rating: (0)
Has anyone here used the LS1 conversion kit from V6 conversions?
VX_Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger